Skip navigation

IF YOU’RE READING THIS FROM FACEBOOK, CLICK “VIEW ORIGINAL POST” OR HERE –> http://sooozie1.blogspot.com/

I can’t believe last week is completely over. In one week I: dealt with harassment from a man in one of my classes, two mid-terms, preparing for a big interview, had my cat put to sleep, and I broke up with my boyfriend (the last two were the same day).

The harassment issue has passed for the most part, I just have a complaint written up and ready to file with the Center for Student Rights and Responsibilities should the problem arise again.

I postponed the interview for one week, and did that yesterday (the 18th). I think it went well enough, but I didn’t get a feel either way. My transcript is pretty hairy so…there’s not much I can do at this point but write a “thank you” letter and hope for the best.

Winnie hadn’t been herself for a while. She wasn’t eating well, and finally by Tuesday night I realized she hadn’t eaten or had a bowel movement in days. It turns out that her kidneys weren’t working properly, and probably never had. We kept her on fluids and tried to get her better for a few days, but it became clear that she would never truly get better, and it would only be a matter of time before she’d be back at the emergency room, being poked and prodded, without her family to keep her company. So on Friday Winnie left us for good, and I am devastated and terribly lonely without her. We spent a lot of time together, she was calm and sat comfortably in my lap for a long time, even drifting off to sleep. I was with her until the end, she knew I was there. She was the light of my life, and I will miss her always.

So…seeing as how it was such a hard week, I chose to make a very hasty decision with Dan on that same day. Because, you know, that makes perfect sense. Use the worst day in your life to date to make a major decision. Friday was very very very hard. We continued to talk through the next week, and eventually were able to come to an understanding. We were both regretting things that were said and actions taken, and the time apart gave us some clarity that we had not been able to achieve before. In all honestly, the first week without Winnie would have been unbearable without Dan, and I am very grateful that he still wanted to speak to me. With renewed enthusiasm, we are continuing with the wonderful companionship that was begun almost 8 months ago. Hey, we’re old, we don’t have time to be jacking around with this kind of stuff :P

So I guess that makes two weeks that were really hard, but it really couldn’t get worse than those two weeks. Short of losing a family member, getting kicked out of school, serious illness or getting injured, I have to say anything else thrown at me would just be “status quo.” “Time heals all” has never been more true. My friends and my family were so wonderful to me, thank you for all of your help and understanding.

The vet sent me a lovely card, and I thought I’d share the contents of it with you. I know many of you loved Winnie, or have lost pets of your own. These words bring me great comfort.

Grieve not, nor
speak of me
with tears,
but laugh and
talk of me
as if I were
beside you.
I loved you so…

Twas Heaven
here with you.

~Isla Paschal Richardson

Then they included the story of “Rainbow Bridge,” which I had never heard before:


Just this side of heaven lies the Rainbow Bridge.

When a beloved pet dies, it goes to Rainbow Bridge. It makes friends with other animals and frolics over rolling hills and peaceful lush meadows of green. They are as healthy and playful as we remember them in days gone by.
Together, the animals chase and play, but the days comes when a pet will suddenly stop and look into the distance…bright eyes intent, eager body quivering. Suddenly recognizing you,
your pet bounds quickly across the green fields and into your embrace. You celebrate in joyous reunion. You will never again separate.
Happy tears and kisses are warm and plentiful, your hands caress the face you missed. You look into the loving eyes of your pet and know that you never really parted. You realized that though out of sight, your love had remembered.
You cross the Rainbow Bridge together.

3 Comments

  1. Awww Susan, I’m so sorry for your rough weeks. I so wanted to ask what was going on but I didn’t want to upset you by bringing up hurtful things!!!! Big hugs from me. We may not talk often but I check on you EVERY day. ;)

  2. Thank you Amy, I keep track of you and your little family too :)

  3. Now I know. I’m sad about Winnie…


Leave a Reply

