Skip navigation

5920_684227181320_23931995_39718031_1271769_nHave you ever formed a friendship in an unexpected way?  For example: one of my best guy friends (Josh) I met through a bulletin on Myspace – it was a serious bulletin inviting people to tour the American Airlines maintenance facility, and his reply was, “want to go out?” I thought it was funny…friendship ensued.  Another good friend (Mike), I dated about 11 years ago.  Man after what we went through I never imagined he’d be one of my closest friends.  Shana, my go-to girlfriend, hated me when we first met.  Ashley and I used to chat in the same channel on IRC and we couldn’t stand each other.  Anyway, long story short – my best and oldest friends have come from experiences that I never believed would win anyone’s affections.

So, I am not all that surprised to feel a connection with Sarah, my ex-boyfriend’s current girlfriend.  Honestly, I didn’t go out with him for very long (2 months) and it wasn’t one of the more important relationships in my life.  It was very tumultuous and he and I were so different I really thought we would never speak again.  But you know…the dust settled and everyone found their place and sure enough, he chose a wonderful woman that I can relate to, confide in, and admire.

It’s so funny that he should choose a woman who so closely mirrors my morals, beliefs, and opinions.  Sure, we probably don’t agree on everything, but we talk about relationship issues more than anything, and it amazes me that she and I are so much alike.  Some of the same issues he and I clashed on, she has been able to communicate her desires more clearly and in a much more palatable way so that he could understand and even agree.

I could go on about Sarah all night, but when it comes down to it – I am in awe.  I am in awe of her and her amazing woman-power to change a man so drastically (for the better – I am 99% sure he is happier in general).  I am in awe of my ability to get to know her objectively and love her for who she is.  I am in awe of her ability to love me despite our “history.”  I am in awe of Graham’s ability to forgive and forget.

Life is too short to hold grudges, and too short to not get to know someone because of their “status” or however you may have met them.  I’m not saying you should go out and be-friend your ex’s current love interest, but when you’re ignoring someone for a real stupid reason…you should consider that she just might change your life.

One Comment

  1. This is such a good blog! Keep me posted when you post more.

    LH


Leave a Reply

