Skip navigation

I put in a maintenance request yesterday because my kitchen faucet had a leak.  So when I got home tonight, I had the little work request sheet on my counter where they tell me what they did and sign it and everything.  Then I look over at my dining room table, and there is a neatly folded pile of my underwear.  Just underwear.  Nothing else on the table. just my panties.  I sure hope the maintenance guy enjoyed that.  I had been doing laundry yesterday and for some reason I couldn’t walk 10 more feet to the dresser.  If I didn’t live alone, I would never have done that.

Until about 6 months ago, I had only lived alone briefly (as in a month or so).  I’ve lived with a dorm-mate, my parents, my ex-husband, the next boyfriend, back to the parents, two roommates when I went back to school, and then back to my parents’ briefly.  Slowly I became more and more territorial, hiding my things, getting really angry when anything got dirty or something of mine got ruined or was used without my permission.  Granted, I had valid reasons – some broken chairs, a chewed up table, my favorite hat, my car, my sleep, and my sanity were all casualties due to my generosity and trust of others.

So, you can imagine how eager I was to move into my own place.  At first I didn’t stay home much – there was too much going on and I wasn’t quite sure how to entertain myself.  My home was spotless at first; after the last two years, no way was I going to look at clutter and filth ever again!!  I had company over all the time.  We hung out at the pool, I cooked dinner…good times.  Welp, now I am perfectly happy to hang out in my “pad” and watch tv and chat with friends online, maybe do some exercise, eat a totally unhealthy dinner at the coffee table, and then pass out on the couch.  Ahh this is the life.

Things I have learned about myself by living alone:

  • I can’t seem to figure out a way to take out my recycling.  I love recycling – it makes your trash bags lighter so they don’t tear.  But my recycling receptacle is about 300 yards away, and downstairs.  Bottles and cans are heavy.  I now am a hoarder of recyclables because I can’t seem to figure this out!  Trash is not a problem, just the recycling…
  • I buy too much food.  I don’t get my shopping fix at the mall, I get it at the grocery store!
  • I love to sleep on the couch.  Sometimes, I actually prefer it to my bed.
  • I am not a tidy person.  Until now, I thought myself to be ridiculously neat.  Um no.  We’re not talking food left out, but as you can tell from my underwear anecdote, things do not always find their place.
  • I can take care of myself!
  • I like to wake up early!

I often wonder what it will take for me to be able to share my living space again.  I think my inner child just needed some breathing room.  Meanwhile, I’m going to continue to laugh at myself.

One Comment

  1. Things I have learned about myself by living alone:

    * I can’t seem to figure out a way to take out my recycling. I love recycling – it makes your trash bags lighter so they don’t tear. But my recycling receptacle is about 300 yards away, and downstairs. Bottles and cans are heavy. I now am a hoarder of recyclables because I can’t seem to figure this out! Trash is not a problem, just the recycling…

    You need one of those little collapsible 2-wheels

    * I buy too much food. I don’t get my shopping fix at the mall, I get it at the grocery store!

    LOL Me too. Going grocery shopping tonight. Celia hates it, so I go alone.

    * I am not a tidy person.

    I know where you got that trait ;)

    * I like to wake up early!

    You? No way!!

    Back in 1993 when I suddenly found myself single and living alone for the first time in my adult life, it was like…euphoria. It was the most fun, joyous, entertaining time of my life. I did more new things, met more new people, and looked forward to each new day.
    Then I met the Right One, and life is still good. It helps when your partner has all those checkpoints in common – respects your personal property, has the same clutter-factor, and shares your interests, yet is enough different to be interesting.

    Enjoy, and don’t make concessions.


Leave a Reply

