Skip navigation

I posted a blog last December listing out some goals I hoped to achieve – here’s an update!

And here’s the original.

December 29, 2009

1.Get rid of all of my recycling “problem”

Update: I finally took out the 6-7 paper bags of recycling in my apartment, and have not let it get that bad since!

2.Write a “This I Believe” essay

Update: Haven’t gotten around to this one yet, but I’ve got some ideas rolling around in my head.

3.Build up a personal savings.

Update: This will be easier after my student loans have been paid off.

4.learn more about wine

Update: An ongoing process!

5.drink more water

Doing good on this one!  I drink about a liter a day.

6.Figure out why I’m so tired

Update: turns out high blood pressure can really wear you out!  Guess what I have?  High blood pressure!  Now that I’m on medication, I sleep great!

7.learn yoga

Update: I’ve learned a little bit – can anyone recommend a good video?

8.learn how to fall asleep

See #6!

9.learn to garden

Update: I have a little herb garden on my balcony, and they’re doing alright!

10.identify 10 strengths I am proud of

11.Take a cooking class

12.visit the Taj Mahal

13.Train a guide dog.

14.Stick to a budget.

Update: mumblemumble…

15.Learn conversational French and/or German

Update: I learned a little before I went to Europe, and I think I did ok speaking to the natives!

16.Learn to ride my mountain bike.

Update: Trying to sell the bike…  http://dallas.craigslist.org/dal/bik/1910206744.html

17.get buff

Update: I’m doing the 100 Pushup Challenge!

18.Visit the ancient ruins in Greece.

19.visit Petra

20.find true love

Update: Well, I haven’t joined a convent yet…

21.learn to invest

22.Purchase a home

23.Learn to be less reactive.

24.Stop interrupting people when they are speaking.

Update: I am definitely more aware of this, I just have a hard time holding back!!

25.Volunteer for a local political campaign.

26.learn about local politics

27.Learn to enjoy being part of a “pair.”

28.improve my manners

29.keep a plant alive for one month

Update: I got a plant from the arrangements at my grandfather’s funeral just after Christmas last year, and I am happy to say that it is alive and well!

30.stretch every day

Update: I don’t get to it every day, but I do stretch and work out more often.

31.check my blood pressure once a week

Update: Again, I don’t do it as often as I should, but then I’m not as worried about it as I was when I wrote this.

32.rebuild my six-pack

Update: This is a slower process than it used to be, but I’m working on it!

33.live with integrity

Update: This isn’t a goal that can be just checked off – it’s ongoing.  I should find some books on the subject.

34.decide what “honor” means to me, and be an example of honor for others

Update: Another ongoing process.  I will probably try to include my definition of “honor” in my “This I Believe” essay.

35.live passionately

36.Be a better friend

Update: I definitely have been making  more of an effort to spend time with my friends and keep relationships going, despite the distance that separates me from most of them.

37.give more to charity

38.set career goals

39.Be completely ruthless about getting things done

Update: Very few weeknights out = more gets done at home!

40.resist the temptation to settle

41.get up when the alarm goes off

Update: I get up a lot easier now that I have been sleeping better.  I’m comfortable with snoozing a few times.

42.Live in the present

Update: Dwelling on the past doesn’t get us anywhere…this goal is more like a constant reminder to keep my mind on what’s directly in front of me.  In fact, reading it just now reminded me to stop worrying about what I was worrying about today!

43.be more self-reliant

Leave a Reply

